Richard Price
(United Kingdom, 1966)   
Richard Price

Richard Price was born in Reading in 1966 and grew up in Renfrewshire, south-west of Glasgow. He trained as a journalist at Napier College, Edinburgh before studying English and Librarianship at Strathclyde University, Glasgow.

Price is associated with the 1990s group of poets, the Informationists, which includes W.N. Herbert, David Kinloch, Peter McCarey and Alan Riach. He writes: “One of the ideas of Informationism was to rewire the new of the everyday to itself: as it were, to cross wires, to hot wire, to short-circuit the text-ology of the present. By this I mean to engage with the new worlds and jargon of the information society; to find poetic analogies in form as well as content to technological invention and global discourse. Though a crucial part of Informationism was an enthusiasm for aspects of the new world we all seem to be living in, some of the Informationists adopted a more ironic and satirical response.”

During this period he co-edited various magazines, including Gairfish (with W N Herbert), Verse, and Southfields and also Southfields Press, which he co-founded with Raymond Friel. He also co-founded Vennel Press, which published early books by David Kinloch, Elizabeth James, W. N. Herbert, Donny O'Rourke, Peter McCarey and others. He now edits Painted, spoken and is also a member of the London-based Poetry Workshop.

Price’s poetry has appeared in sequence-length collections since 1993. Lucky Day (Carcanet, 2004) was shortlisted for several prizes, including the Whitbread Poetry Prize. The book was acclaimed as both a lyrical and avant-garde work. Greenfields (also Carcanet) was published in 2007. With David Miller he co-wrote British Poetry Magazines 1914-2000: A History and Bibliography (Oak Knoll Press/The British Library, 2006).

The poet has two children and lives in London where he works as Head of Modern British Collections at the British Library.

© Robert Crawford / George Ttoouli

Selected Bibliography

Tube Shelter Perspective
, Southfields Press, Staines, 1993
Sense and a Minor Fever, Vennel Press, Staines, 1993
Marks & Sparks, Akros, Fife 1995
Hand Held, Akros, Fife 1997
Perfume & Petrol Fumes, Diehard, Callander, 1999
Frosted, Melted, Diehard, Callander, 2002
Lucky Day, Carcanet, Manchester, 2005
Earliest Spring Yet, Landfill Press, Norwich, 2006
Greenfields, Carcanet, Manchester, 2007


Richard Price’s website

Archive of the Now
Some poems and recordings


Subscribe to the newsletter

follow us on facebook follow us on twitter Follow us (international)  

follow us on facebook follow us on twitter Follow us (Dutch)