Andrew Greig
(United Kingdom, 1951)   
Andrew Greig

Andrew Greig was born in Bannockburn, Scotland, and grew up in Anstruther, Fife. He was educated at the University of Edinburgh and is a former Glasgow University Writing Fellow and Scottish Arts Council Scottish/Canadian Exchange Fellow. He won an Eric Gregory Award in 1972, and his first book of poetry, White Boats (with Catherine Lucy Czwerkawska), was published in 1973.

It was followed by Men on Ice (1977), Surviving Passages (1982), A Flame In Your Heart (with Kathleen Jamie, 1986). The Order of the Day (Bloodaxe 1990) was a Poetry Book Society Choice. Other collections include Western Swing (Bloodaxe 1994); Into You (Bloodaxe 2001). This Life, This Life: New and Selected Poems 1970-2006, was published by Bloodaxe in 2006.

In 1985 Greig published an account of the successful ascent of the Mustagh Tower, Summit Fever, which was shortlisted for the Boardman Tasker Memorial Prize. A second mountaineering book, Kingdoms of Experience: Everest, the Unclimbed Ridge, was published in 1986. He is also a novelist and his fifth novel, In Another Light (Orion 2004), won the 2004 Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award.

A full-time writer, he lives with his wife, novelist Lesley Glaister, in Orkney and Peebles.

© Helen Mort


White Boats
(with Catherine Lucy Czwerkawska) Garret Arts, Edinburgh, 1973
Men On Ice, Canongate, Edinburgh, 1977
Surviving Passages, Canongate, Edinburgh, 1982
Summit Fever: The story of an Armchair Climber on the 1984 Mustagh Tower Expedition, Hutchinson, London, 1985
A Flame in Your Heart (with Kathleen Jamie) , Bloodaxe, Newcastle, 1986
Kingdoms of Experience: Everest, the Unclimbed Ridge, Hutchinson, London, 1986
The Order of the Day, Bloodaxe, Newcastle, 1990
Electric Brae: A Modern Romance, Canongate, Edinburgh, 1992
Western Swing: Adventures with the Heretical Buddha, Bloodaxe, Newcastle, 1994
The Return of John McNab, Headline, London, 1996
When They Lay Bare, Faber and Faber, London, 1999
That Summer, Faber and Faber, London, 2000
Into You , Bloodaxe, Newcastle, 2001
Word Jig: New Fiction from Scotland (with Michel Faber and Ali Smith) Hanging Loose Press, New York, 2003
In Another Light, Weidenfeld & Nicolson, London, 2004
Preferred Lies, Weidenfeld & Nicolson, London, 2006
This Life, This Life: New & Selected Poems 1970-2006 , Bloodaxe, Northumberland, 2006


Andrew Greig at Bloodaxe
Some audio resources and further information about titles.

Kalamalka Institute for Working Writers
A detailed biography, bibliography and further information, as a downloadable PDF.

Orion Books Q&A
A quickfire interview.


follow us on facebook Follow us on Facebook  
follow us on twitter Follow us on Twitter